Board of Trustees

The Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation is administered by a thirteen-member Board of Trustees which includes the State's Comptroller, Treasurer, Secretary of Agriculture, and Secretary of Planning, all of whom serve as "ex officio" members.  The other nine members of the Board serve "at-large" and represent various regions of the State.  All members are appointed by the Governor and serve a term of four years.  At least five of the at-large members are farmer representatives; the Board has representation from the Maryland Agricultural Commission, the Maryland Farm Bureau, the Maryland State Grange, the Maryland Young Farmers' Advisory Board, and the State's forestry industry.

Responsibilities of the Foundation’s Board of Trustees include:
·         Disseminating information to farmland owners and other Maryland citizens;
·         Providing assistance and coordination to the twenty-three Agricultural Land Preservation Advisory Boards;
·         Promulgating program rules, regulations, and procedures;
·         Reviewing and approving easement applications; and
·          Acquiring, by purchase or donation, agricultural land preservation easements on productive agricultural land.

Members of the Board of Trustees

John W. Draper, Jr.
Chair, Board of Trustees
Farm Bureau Representative
Queen Anne's County resident
Appointed:  2007

Bernard L. Jones, Sr.
Vice-Chair, Board of Trustees
At-large Representative
Carroll County resident
Appointed:  2010

Michael Calkins
Young Farmers' Advisory Board Representative
Howard County resident
Appointed:  2014

Craig Highfield
At-large Representative
Anne Arundel County resident
Appointed:  2013

Patricia A. Langenfelder
At-large Representative
Kent County resident
Appointed:  2013

Donald T. Moore
Maryland Grange Representative
Cecil County resident
Appointed:  2009

James B. “Bubby” Norris, Jr.
At-large Representative
St. Mary’s County resident
Appointed:  2009
Jonathan Quinn
At-large Representative
Cecil County resident
Appointed:  2008

Eugene B. Roberts, Jr.
Agriculture Commission Representative
Howard County resident
Appointed:  2011

Honorable Peter Franchot
State Comptroller
Ex Officio Member
Represented by Jerome Klasmeier
Honorable Richard Eberhart Hall
Secretary of Planning
Ex Officio Member
Represented by Daniel Rosen

Honorable Nancy K. Kopp
State Treasurer
Ex Officio Member
Represented by Susanne Brogan
Honorable Earl F. Hance
Secretary of Agriculture
Ex Officio Member
Martin O'Malley, Governor
Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor
Earl F. Hance, Secretary
Mary Ellen Setting, Deputy Secretary

Last revision:  May 16, 2014.